Oatmeal Currant Cookies

Sorry for not posting in a while!! I just got a new job, and life’s been pretty crazy this past week. But for the most part it’s settled down so I can bake again, yay!

So my boyfriend unofficially declared himself as the “manager” of my blog, giving me all nonsense talk about “deadlines.” He’s really just encouraging me to post something every day and has been bugging me to get back to my blog every day since my last entry. Aw, it’s so nice to have a supporter :).

Tonight I made a very special batch of oatmeal raisin cookies. I already have numerous chocolate chip cookie recipes to turn to, but I’ve still been trying out various recipes for oatmeal raisin. Since I was a little girl, this has always been my favorite cookie. It’s really the oatmeal I like a lot, rather than the raisins. I’m not much of a fan of cooked oatmeal, but in cookies they are incredible. Anyways, I’ve already done the google search for “the best oatmeal raisin cookie recipe ever,” and tried out my findings. I’ve found some that I liked okay, but I was waiting to taste ones that blow my mind before I share one. The other day I was flipping through a book sitting on my shelf, The Art of Simple Food, and came across this recipe for “Oatmeal Currant Cookies” somewhere within the last few pages. It caught my eye because it took a unique approach to making these, much different from the standard way of making cookies. It calls for mixing boiling water with baking soda, something I’m not used to doing when putting together cookie dough.

ImageSoaking the raisins in warm water made them plump and juicier, spreading its flavor throughout the rest of the cookie. Not only that, but the oatmeal was ground, creating a delicate balance of sweetness with the taste of oatmeal in every bite. These cookies are crisp along the edges due to the mixing of baking soda and boiling water, just how I like my cookies to be. These are, in my opinion, the best oatmeal raisin cookies ever! I’d even say that they are my absolute favorite cookies I’ve made so far.
ImageOatmeal Currant Cookies
(I used raisins!) makes 3 dozen cookies

Preheat oven to 375 F.
Put into a small saucepan:
1/2 cup currants, 1/4 cup water, warm over medium heat until the currants are plumped and the water is absorbed.

Measure 1/2 cups (6 oz) rolled oats and process until ground.
Transfer to a bowl and stir in:
1/2 cup flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

In another bowl, cream together 8 tablespoons (1 stick) of unsalted butter, 6 tablespoons granulated sugar, 6 tablespoons dark brown sugar

In a small bowl, mix together:
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon boiling water
Stir mixture into the butter mixture, then beat in 1 egg, 1 teaspoon vanilla

Stir in dry ingredients and the currants. 
Scoop the dough into 1-inch balls and put them on parchment-paper-lined baking sheets about 2 in apart. Bake for 8-1o minutes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

